Soulful Edinburgh

Beautiful. Historical. Vibrant. Happy.

“Last christmas I gave you my heart, but the very next day, you gave it away. This year, to save me from tears, I’ll give it to someone special.”

SONY DSC
The christmas music almost drowns in the sound of the raindrops hitting the roofs of the stands at the market. The colorful lights draw people in from the nearby busy shoppingstreet. Scots and tourists alike are milling back and forth, looking for the perfect buy, the perfect souvenir or gift. A wooden figure? Some scotch? Maybe a classic scottish hat?

SONY DSC
It’s cold. The puddles I can’t help but step in, soak my feet. Yet, I, like the ones around me, am smiling. I breathe in the smell of warm beverages mixed with cinnamon and ginger bread. Rubbing my hands together, I walk past an elderly couple. Their accent is more interesting than the actual words being said. Rolling R’s. No G’s at the end (“Evening” = “Evenin”). But I do catch “I dinnae ken” and “eh?”

SONY DSC

The moment passes and I move on. I spot a small wooden owl and immediately head for it. “Ey, look, it’s Hazel!” I call to my sister. Turning it, I add “shit, it’s expensive…” She comes over, “owls are so cute”. I nod and again picture the owl I had on my arm earlier the same day.

SONY DSC
I put the wooden owl down and look around. Edinburgh is pulsing. Moving. Vibrant. Alive.

 

SONY DSC

 

12 thoughts on “Soulful Edinburgh

    1. Thank you! Edinburgh is a beautiful city and I’m really enjoying it here! I hope you’re having a nice advent. Maybe you have snow in Norway? Here it is raining, but the christmas spirit is strong anyway! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Trust me, Hedwig was the first thing I thought about too when I saw the owl. I simply couldn’t walk past without holding it. A great experience 😀
      Thanks, I will! This city is something different, I’m falling a little bit more in love with it every day:)

      Like

  1. Literally my Favourite place in the UK other than where I live! Visit almost annually at Christmas time to visit my dad and drink whisky! Beautiful city, lots of culture and vibrant life around ever cobbled street and corner ! Love this little blog post! Keep it up 🙂 oh and thanks for stopping by my corner of the world 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, you’re so lucky! I have only been there once, but I loved the place! It’s really something special:) I’m glad you liked this post, I’ll try!;) You’re welcome:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

