Cultivation in Oslo

The great thing about a big city is that there’s lots to do. Want to go to a reptile park? The Nobel peace center? Perhaps art is more your thing and the national gallery is where you’re headed? If none of these seem right, there’s a small place called Bygdøy, right outside the heart of the city, that offers the Frammuseum (Fram = Forward) – the polar ship, and the bravest arctic explorers.

DSC_2269.JPG
You know it’s going to be a good day in Norway when the sun is shining.

In the last couple of days I’ve tried all of the abovementioned experiences in an effort to cultivate myself a little. The reptile park was sadly a disappointment; small and anonymous (turns out googling “Fun Oslo” wasn’t the best idea after all), but I had a great time at the others.

DSC_2291
Nobel Peace Center. “So far, we have not been able to create a world where children will be safe. They are innocent and have nothing to do with violence but often they are on target. We should not only condemn it but also act against it.” – Kailash Satyarthi.

It’s strange how little I knew about the process of the Nobel Peace Prize before my visit. It’s awarded here in Norway, my own country, yet I knew nothing about most of the winners. I’m not even sure I knew when the award ceremony takes place. If I can follow the American election as closely as I do, then I can keep up to date on the politics of my own country. It might even be as fun this year, considering Donald Trump has been nominated for this too.

The Fram museum was a different experience, but still educational. Antarctica is the number one on my top ten destination list, so walking around learning about the inhabitants and nature was fun. In addition the huge replica of Fram was interesting to explore. I enjoyed several hours at the museum, and think that anyone who hungers for an adventure to the great arctic, should stop  by.

DSC_2249
The first of three levels!

DSC_2263
People of stone seem to follow me everywhere I go these days. Here are five important explorers of the arctic, outside of the museum.

P.S. Did you google it yet? If not, the ceremony takes place the 10th of December.

P.P.S. I’ll publish a post about the art museum in one of the following days.

2 thoughts on “Cultivation in Oslo

Leave a Reply

