Angry Boy

I seem to have a thing for people made of stone these days. First it was just a random interest I took in the statues of Trondheim, then I actively searched out the Women of Stone here in Oslo. And what do you know, next I decide to take it further – to Angry Boy.

DSC_2152
The Vigeland Park

The Vigeland Park is the world’s largest sculpture park made by a single artist. It is one of the most popular tourist attractions in Norway (either people really like art, or they just like that it’s open all year round and has free entrance). The park has over 200 statues, but I’m there to see just one.

DSC_2155
Angry Boy, “Sinnataggen” in norwegian. The most famous statue in the park.

It’s amazing what this little boy has been through.Β He has been subjected to vandalism and stolen, yet he’s still standing. He’s still angry with the world for the place it has become. Or perhaps he just didn’t get that toy he wanted.

P.S. If you see a statue, it is worth taking a closer look at. It can tell you a lot about a city. For example it’s: history, art preference, and even a little bit about the inhabitants based on who they have chosen to remember. Happy People of Stone searching!

9 thoughts on “Angry Boy

  1. Sinnataggen is a classic πŸ˜€ You have definitely inspired me to pay attention to all the stone people πŸ™‚ Enjoy the rest of your trip! Can’t wait to see you in the easter vacation πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It certainly is! Even though I don’t know why πŸ˜€ That’s great! I hope you find them as interesting as me. I will, and I am looking forward to see you too:)

      Like

    1. You know what, I’ve actually wondered that myself. When I googled it after my visit, it seems like the statue has become famous simply by being charming and portraying something people can relate to. In other words – coincidentally. It probably also helps that the media has covered it a lot. One time someone found it funny to paint it pink during the night; it got big coverage. Interesting, isn’t it? How some things become famous, and others just don’t.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

