The Best of Norway

So far… I’ve started this year with exploring my own country. First Northern-Norway in February, and I just returned to Stavanger from a three-week trip to Bergen, Trondheim, Oslo and Skien. Having spent several months abroad last year, reciving question after question of places in Norway, places I’d never been – I felt a little bit embarrassed about my lack of knowledge. It was high time I explored the place I call home.

Northern-Norway, Alta

It’s sad. Norwegians are among the Europeans that travel the most, but few of us visit the northern parts of our own country. When we travel we travel south, and who can blame us? We don’t get a lot of warmth, so we go to Spain and Greece to get some much needed vitamin D. However, Northern-Norway is one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen, and dog sledding is worth the trip alone. It’s a taste of the real Arctic – dancing northern lights and endless white horizons.

DSC_0764.JPG

wp-1454884409926.jpg

Bergen

The city of seven mountains. They are everywhere, majestic and tall. Choose any one of them and know that the view from the top is going to be worth your effort.

wp-1456656730579.jpg

Bryggen, the old wharf, is on the world heritage list and the place to be in the summer. The restaturants sets chairs outside and norwegians enjoy cold beverages and smile more than ever.

DSC_1343

Trondheim

Wide open, calm and ancient. There is history everywhere, in the Old Town of course, but also in church. Nidaromsdomen is hundreds of years old and the place where the kings of Norway have been crowned. I visited the ajecent museum and learned about the royalty of a different time.

DSC_1921

If you visit, beware, Vikings guard this city.

DSC_1792

Oslo

I walked around and looked at statues; pretending to know where I was going. The capital of Norway is small compared to other capitals in Europe, but compared to other cities in Norway it’s large. Oslo offers multiple opportunities to get cultivated or learn something new; I stopped by the national art gallery, a museum about the polarship Fram, and spent hours at the Nobel Peacecenter. Culture is everything in this city – and it has a lot of it. Plan ahead and buy a ticket to the Opera, or visit the castle and watch the changeing of the guards at 13:30.

DSC_2116.JPG

You don’t get the same serenity here as you do in the abovementioned cities; there are no colorful wooden houses and quirky narrow streets, but perhaps that’s not what one is looking for when visiting Oslo anyway. Get lost in the noise andΒ busyness of a metropolis.

DSC_2007.JPG
Time your visit to an event. Biathlon World Championship, March, 2016.

33 thoughts on “The Best of Norway

  1. I know what you mean! I live i Finland but unlike most Finns, my family doesn’t own any lakeside summer cottages so I actually have no experience of the very essence of Finnishness, lakes in the land of 1000 lakes. It’s embarrassing and sad, but what to do? I also have never spent time the archipelago though I’ve seen parts of it from cruise ships on the way to Stockholm and I know it’s very pretty. Instead of arranging trips to those places during my all-too-rare vacation time, I opt to go somewhere to see the sun. Like you said, vitamin D is needed after the long winters. It’s a shame though! As for Norway, I’ve been there a couple of times but too shortly. Hubby and I have been talking of doing a trip to the northern parts one day in the near future πŸ™‚ It looks so beautiful there! Happy Easter! Ha det bra! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Nice to meet a person that can relate! I understand what you mean! Norway is famous for the fjords, but I have never visited any of the most known. Finland seems like this gorgeous place, and I’m ashamed to say I’ve never been there. You should take a roundtrip sometime, I promise you won’t regret it! Us Nordic people really need some sun, haha, I’m glad I’m not the only one that feels that way πŸ˜‰
      If you get the chance you should visit Norway as well! Make sure to time it though – either so yo can see the midnight sun or the northern lights. Happy Easter to you too!
      HyvÀÀ bloggaaminen! (I blame Google Translate if that is completely wrong…^^)

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Kiitos, tak! It wasn’t completely wrong πŸ™‚ We have midnight sun here, too, but I’ve never seen the northern lights – that’s a dream of mine. And all those gorgeous photos of them circulating everywhere are almost always from Norway πŸ™‚ So I’d say that’s a pretty good reason to visit! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

        1. “It wasn’t completely wrong”, haha! You do? Cool, have you ever seen it? I wish I had, but sadly not yet. The northern lights are amazing though, I could have stared at them forever – worth the trip alone I’d say;)

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I can definitely relate. When we travel we want to get as much as we can from the experience and country we visit. But at home we take for granted that our countries are permanent fixtures in our lives and put off getting to know our own space. I’m guilty of this but I’m glad you are getting to know your country in new ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad I’m not alone about this, I’ve been so embarrassed! I only recently started traveling my own country, and to be honest, it doesn’t feel quite as exotic to talk about it with fellow norwegians. That doesn’t matter all that much though, everyone for themselves, right? I agree, that’s exactly how it feels! You should try traveling your own one day, I don’t think you’ll regret it:)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

