The Inevitable Comparison

I’ve been thinking a lot about baboons lately. This might sound strange to a newcomer, but all of you loved oldies of my followers, you know baboons and me have a history. No matter which one of these groups you belong to though, you might ask yourself why I’m thinking about them now, in Australia, several months after my time in Namibia. It’s because of the koalas. The stupid, stupid koalas.

image

#creepily taking pictures of him while he’s sleeping

Baboons have this look in their eyes. You can see them thinking. You can see them evaluating you and plotting their grand plan. In koalas’ eyes I see nothing. Sure, they are cute, and waaaay softer than I expected, but they sleep 18-22 hours a day. They sleep, they eat, and then they sleep again. Where’s the fun in that? Now, you might be saying that I am here to help out with saving them from extinction, but as I can’t very well say this at work, I needed to let it out. I miss my playful baboons (at that point where they only wanted to play with me and not bite, scratch and pull my hair).

image

My furry friends could play all day, jumping up and down and in and out of my shirt.

Having thought of baboons, I started thinking about the rest of my project in Namibia. It’s so different this time around. I live at a hostel in the middle of the city, right next to a huge mall, not isolated in the middle of nowhere. I fall asleep to the sound of the French guys clinking their glasses together for the millionth time, not the lions roaring. However, there’s also always enough food on my plate and I never feel like I should offer it to someone that is more hungry than myself.

image

Ain’t nobody gonna eat this food, but me!!

I’ve gotten one cut since I arrived here, and even that tiny injury was taken seriously. While, probably right now, at an animal sanctuary in Namibia, a volunteer is walking up to a coordinator with a blood covered hand and arm – and the coordinator looks down at it and shrugs “hm, yeah, you might need stitches for that. Go see if you can find the veterinarian”.

image

Another similarity is that the work is hard. Digging up this tree was nowhere near fun, but immensely satisfying!

After I leave this place, I know, just like I knew as I turned around in the car to get one last look of the camp in Namibia, that I will never return. For better of for worse, some experiences are best left as once in a lifetime’s.

image

Having a dingo lick my face not included!

11 thoughts on “The Inevitable Comparison

  1. Haha, the lazy koalas x)

    I can imagine it must be very different. But I guess that’s kind of good, right? To experience two different animal-projects in two completly different enviroments. It’s for sure intresting to hear about the diffrences πŸ™‚

    Aw, adorable dingo ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, it really is. I like the difference, the fact that I somewhat miss what I had means it was worth having:) I’m glad you think so!

      The dingo’s name is Tan and he reminds me a lot about a dog I once knew. He definitely has his own will, is strong, and is always up for cuddling ❀

      Like

  2. I KNEW YOU WOULD MISS THE BABOONS! Baboons for life. I miss them too, here on your blog πŸ˜› The koalas are super cute though. Loved this post, I can imagine your destinations could not be more different.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry, but don’t you think much of those same thoughts go through a Koalas head, observing you running around on the ground, breaking a sweat digging up trees? While they consider their next nap, wondering if food will arrive by the time they wake up. That sounds like a clever animal to me!
    Also, baboons.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

