So long, Australia

When you read this I will be in the air. I’ll probably have forgotten that you will read this, and am immersed in the third comedy of the 23-hour flight. So I want to take this opportunity, here at the airport, to tell you that I once again had to say goodbye.

13225145_1022184057848599_1794144971_o

Goodbyes don’t get easier. It’s a lie people tell you to make you worry less about it. I’m leaving Sydney soon and have had an amazing time in Australia. I’ve spent my last days on a farm two hours outside of the main city, with an Australian family I had never met before. A friend of my family recently reconnected with a friend she hadn’t talked to in 23 years (Facebook is actually good for something), and when that friend was told about me, she invited me to stay with her family. A little bit nervous, but mostly excited, I figured so what if I couldn’t get a refund on my hotel, and hopped on a train.

13224155_1022183057848699_298339851_o

The family was unbelievably welcoming. Can you imagine taking in a stranger, on the word of a friend you haven’t spoken to in 23 years? They taught me how to milk a cow and let me bottle feed their lamb (Two firsts for me!!). They took me in as if they had known me for years, and yesterday evening, watching Eurovision I found myself thinking how strange it was – that I could feel so at home in a house I’ve only been for two days. I realized that it was because here, at the other side of the world, I had found a family that in so many ways reminded me of my own. Their father gives them silly nicknames, they go crazy while playing games, and they argue until they laugh.

13211015_1022183047848700_2124467188_o

I’ll have to leave soon now. So goodbye Australia. Goodbye my friends and fellow wildlife volunteers in Cairns. Goodbye busy and beautiful Sydney, and the wonderful family that took me in. Goodbye, goodbye. I have to say it many times, because when I get on that plane I won’t say it. I will turn my head and watch the city disappear and whisper “So long, mate, I’ll be back.”

13224063_1022184071181931_728166355_o
Dreams do come true ❀

13 thoughts on “So long, Australia

  1. Sounds like a really nice family πŸ™‚ So awesome that you can milk a cow! (another thing to cross of the list πŸ˜‰ )

    So you did watch the final? Wasn’t it in the middle of the night? Australia was so close to winning! I thought their song were better than Ukraine πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think so too! I’m expanding my horizons, haha! πŸ™‚

      No, I watched the semi-finals. Since Eurovision aired in the Scandinavian timezone it aired the next day in Australia – if it didn’t it would be in the middle of the night. I think so too, they should have won:)

      Like

  2. This is the fun part about traveling, the meeting of new people πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you had a great time with the family, it’s amazing how strangers will take us in and make us feel like home. Sorry you’re at the end of your trip, sounds like you have had a ball πŸ™‚ Then again.. this means, welcome back to Norway πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree! I love meeting new people and hearing their stories – one of the many reasons WordPress is amazing too! Australia was an expensive trip, but it was worth every penny! Thank you, although I had a great time, it’s good to be back πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I felt the same way, a deep sadness when I left Australia. Come to think of it, I feel a deep sadness when I leave from most trips. I too would love to go back someday. I have a few friends on Facebook who live in Australia and I actually got to visit when I was there, and I see their posts of dinners out and strolling with the harbour bridge and the opera house in the background and I yearn to be with them.

    Like

    1. Wow, I can imagie that must make you long to go back, indeed! I also usually have that feeling when I leave somewhere. It’s so strange though, because most often I’m ready to go home, but I still don’t want to leaveπŸ˜‚

      Like

      1. haha it definitely does! I’m basically never ready to go home. I think I was born to wander and cursed with a desk job instead.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

