Let’s talk Australian!

One of the first things I do when I visit another country is to listen to the language(s). If I am in an English speaking country I often play around with their accent after spending time around or with the locals (monkey see, monkey do). It helps me immerse myself in the culture and is good fun.

I spent five weeks Down Under. Four of those I spent volunteering with animals, helping the locals. Now I knew I would hear “Mate” and possibly “G’day”, what I wasn’t expecting was “Brekky” (breakfast) and “toastie” (toast) and for them to basically abbreviate everything. Take a look at this video to see what I’m talking about:

When I learned English I was taught to enunciate the words; that even though the Americans say the “innernet” it is supposed to be the “Internet”. And of course, I had to say the whole word – no brekky for me. However, as I have finished school, playing aorund with differnt accents is something I enjoy a lot, I think I will always talk more “correct” than most people that I meet, but it’s fun trying not to. Imitating Australias ended up with me saying stuff like:

“Good on ya!”, “Alrighty”, “Heaps”, “Far out!”, “How ya going?” and “hey?”.

I found that there are two rules one can almost always follow:

1. Change letters at the end of words: “After” and “dinner” – “Aftah” and “dinnah”

2. Skip letter at the end of words: “What? “and “Trying” – “Wha?” and “Tryin”

Do you guys like to listen to locals and try to imitate them? Do you have some favorite words or phrases? Tell me in the comments below! If you don’t then mine is “No worries, mate!”

16 thoughts on “Let’s talk Australian!

  1. Fun post! I try to speak the local language where I go, if I know it (if it’s not an English-speaking country). But I don’t really imitate accents, at least not on purpose! 🙂 Sometimes I can’t avoid it though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. cool post. I think any one who spends a bit of time in other countries will try to assimilate and will naturally pick up the lingo. 😉
    some of those words are used here in the states ie: cabbie.
    being an American….I say internet or just net. lol but I guess we all have our way of speaking no matter what country we are from.
    as the ad says, how to speak Australian…. Fosters. lol
    I know joey is a baby roo. and randy is not a nice thing to call a woman. lol

    when ever I travel to a non English speaking place, I tried to speak the language, but most of the time, the locals didn’t want me to as they wanted to try out their English. which usually was much better than me trying to speak their language. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It doesn’t surprise me that you know that, haha. I just love words like “cabbie”, it all sounds so… Cute?

      Haha, a downside to being American! No one ever wants me to help them practice their Norwegian. (I wonder why… 😉 ) It must have been nice though, even when you were a kid you could communicate with anyone with a basic understanding of the language. In Norway we learn English early on, but it was still a challenge to use it as a lingua franca on the first journeys I had with my family (which I guess is somewhat understandable 🙂 ).

      Liked by 1 person

    1. I couldn’t help myself, just had to add the Bieber one, haha! I’m glad you enjoyed it 😀 I think it makes it more fun to, it’s one of my favorite ways to immerse myself in a culture 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

