Nothing Else Matters

I have to tell you about last night. I went to an open piano concert. My plan was to just stop by and then return to the appartment my family is renting from a local. I felt kind of out of it after hearing the shocking and horrible news of what happened in Florida, so I wanted to just stay in and watch the rest of the game between Italy and Belgium, which was on at the same time. However, when I got there I realized that I would miss the rest of the match.

Twelve pianos. I have no idea why there was a concert, who the pianists were, or what any of the italian they were speaking meant. First they played Mozart (during which I leaned over asking “do you think they are playing something famous?”) and other classic pieces, but it was when they started on the medleys, when they gave me Nothing Else Matters and Coldplay songs, that I closed my eyes and just listened. I sat next to old people and hipsters, tourists and locals, and it didn’t matter. Loving music is something everyone understands.

As we were all united by our mutual love, one of the pianists took the word. He cleared his troat and I expected more italian. However, what came out was broken English and he said: “thank you all for coming tonight to *italian, italian*, I want us to take moment, the world needs more love and openness. I think of the tragedy in Florida and all horrible happenings now.”

So, to everyone, and especially you Americans and the LGBT community, I want to say that the world is thinking of you and that we’ll be strong – together.

18 thoughts on “Nothing Else Matters

  1. “i can hear music, sweet sweet music…” beach boys.

    they say mathematics is the universal language. I think music is. on the space craft voyager that the USA sent out into space many many years ago, and the first earth craft to leave our solar system, they have a recording of music. music is every where. all one has to do, is listen. ๐Ÿ™‚
    nice post

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

