A Norwegian’s view on Brexit

I had to wait with this post; to take it all in. I never really believed they would go through with it. However, Brexit is a fact; dividing the UK as effectively as it seperates it from the EU. Some believe that they’ll finally be free, while others feel like they have just been robbed of their future. The end of the UK’s membership in the EU promises change.

brexit-could-be-followed-by-grexit-departugal-italeave-czechout-oustria-2913530
The main reason outsiders are against Brexit is the worry of an unstable Europe. Everyone is stressed out about today’s amount of refugees, the terrorist attacks that seem to happen more and more often, and the increased support for right wing populism worldwide. We know something has to be done, but can’t find a solution. We’re scared that while we ponder this, new terrible events will take place.

On the 22 of July, 2011, the far-right terrorist Anders B. Breivik killed 77 people for their political views. He placed a bomb in the government district of Oslo, and then went to a summer camp for politically active youth and started shooting. Before we knew who he was, there was a lot of finger pointing. No one expected it to be an ethnical Norwegian. One who looked like us. Talked like us. One of us. Inception isn’t just a movie; dangerous ideas are spreading, and the idea that it is us against them is the most poisonous of them.

The cold is seeping in, and we are closing our borders in an attempt to keep it out – forgetting that sticking together keeps us warm. Tension is rising and we’re eyeing each other with suspicion, making mistakes humanity should know not to by now. Brexit is marking change, and while we wait for the outcome, hoping for the best – we need to keep our eyes open.

27 thoughts on “A Norwegian’s view on Brexit

  1. You are right.
    But I think it is sad to cancel all the ideals that some 40 years ago brought UK inside the European Community!
    Ideals not only of UK, but of all Europe.
    Nice blog, by the way.
    I will follow it… From my also “not” European blog 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s sad too. Now we can only hope that this will make the EU evolve and that the UK will figure this out. The increase of incidents related to racism is scary, so I hope the diffrences are handled as soon as possible.
      Thank you, I’m glad you like it! Welcome to Green Lights Ahead! 🙂

      Like

  2. It is really sad that the UK decided to do this, we should of remained in the EU (my personal opinion) for the simple reason that we are stronger as a whole. As it stands, Scotland, NI, and Wales are all looking to leave. Racist attacks have increased, with cries of go back home. And all this, for the most part, because the government have ignored the working class people and they got fed up of. We have been subjected to cuts after cuts after cuts, and one of the arguments used was going abroad would be more expensive. To a large amount of the out vote, they can’t afford to go abroad. Hell most can’t most afford proper heating in the winter. No one expected this, not even the leave crowd who were conceeding defeat at 2.30am and then dancing victory at 4.30am.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I agree, I think the UK should have remained too. It’s scary, that it took this little time for incidents of racism to increase. I hope it settles, as the situation is today I can’t imagine that the UK can stop receiving refugees entirely. The country still needs the EU at some level, it will have to make deals. Norway is not a part of the EU either, but we’re bound through the EEA. There are huge differences between Norway and the UK though, what works for us might not work for others.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. A lot of people were banging on about how we should try and get the same deal as Norway, without thinking, that the education system, benefit system, political system plus everything is different. The politicians have already started back peddling with things they were saying regarding were the spare money was going (there is going to be no spare money) the immigration issue, taxes going up, and the fact that no one has a damn plan for what we are meant to do now

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Great post and very true. As a Brit I’m very sad we have left the EU as I voted to remain. All that it leaves now is to wait and see what happens. I just hope things don’t become dreadful x

    Liked by 1 person

          1. No I agree. Definitely can’t be called the United Kimgdom if we split apart. Since this has happened there’s been an increase in racial hatred with people being told to ‘go back home’ and other things. Very sad x

            Liked by 1 person

  4. I totally agree with you. As an American, I’m obviously not a part of the EU in any way and not as impacted as those who are. That being said, I love Europe and the UK and a happy, stable Europe is good for us all. I hope that whatever ends up resulting from all this, a solution is found that works and doesn’t cause any further issues.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Norway is not a part of the EU either, we’re bound to them via the EEA (European Economic Area). Some believe that that’s going to be UK’s way out, but the UK isn’t Norway – what works for us might not work for them. I wish they would have chosen another time to leave, but then again if the circumstances had been different I don’t think they would have. Hoping for the best is really all we can do at this point.

      Like

  5. If the EU mandarins were transparent and accountable I’d have voted remain. Even though I work for a Belgian firm here in Britain i voted to leave (against my own personal best interests) as I want to elect the people who govern the nation. All the other spurious arguments are irrelevant – the EU has taken too much power, and as the decision makers are not elected we had to leave.

    If we could get back to a European Union with free trade and local decision/law making I would be happy to re-join. As it is the bureaucrats mis-calculated – they now have a EU minus the second biggest economy, and they only have themselves to blame.

    If I could say one further thing – I support the vast majority of East Europeans working here – but if we could export the lazy spongers who are English and take hand outs like no tomorrow I’d be happy to take in 2 million more Poles!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is very interesting, I haven’t met someone form Leave yet. Thank you for sharing your view! As Norway is not a part of the EU (we have voted against joining twice), I can understand what you say about having control of your own country, and that the EU needed a lesson.

      However, leaving right now, in the tense situation that the terror attacks and refugees create, destabilizes both the UK and Europe. Scotland is reconsidering leaving, the pound has dropped and there has been an increase of incidents related to racism. Hopefully it won’t take long for this to settle, and I really hope you’re right – that this is for the best. If Leave is not, then the aftermath of mistake will impact everyone, in a much greater way than the decision already does. Time will tell.

      And again, thank you for your comment! I now have a better understanding of the Leave side’s thoughts.

      Like

  6. It did go through by a very small margin and its hard to believe that such a big decision could result from such a small majority. I also believe that many people who were outraged by the result didn’t get round to vote because they were complacent and that has added fire to the anger. All in all a sad story and I’m hoping our separation will be as small as possible

    Liked by 3 people

    1. It’s sad that not more voted, I think that it would have made a difference, at least to them. I wish D. Cameron would have said that the UK would only leave if it was voted out by a large majority. Now all we can do is wait, and hope for the best.

      Liked by 2 people

  7. Thank you for sharing! I have been curious to hear a European voice on Brexit.

    How true it is that “the cold is seeping in, [and we are] forgetting that sticking together keeps us warm.”

    Liked by 3 people

    1. I figured I would have to write about this, although it was harder than a usual post. This change really means something, I only hope it turns out for the best. I’m happy you like it! And thanks for commenting! I always love to hear other people’s thoughs!

      Liked by 3 people

  8. Brexit has definitely divided opinions but you are so right in saying that we need to stick together. It’s hard to feel like sticking to those who disagree with you but hopefully the divide of opinion will highlight the real problems of our country and together we can solve them.

    Liked by 3 people

    1. The UK’s situation right now is difficult to watch from a distance; I can’t imagine what it must be like to actually be in it. I trust in your ability to figure it out though, if only because I have to.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

