My Shark Encounter

I went fishing the other day, which to me means that I picked up a fishing rod, found water and hoped for the best. I don’t have any knowledge of hooks or techniques so when I fish it’s all about patience (and admitedly, a little bit of “oh, oh, I’ve got one!! I’ve got one! Must be bi-… oh… Seaweed…”)

wp-1467630345392.jpg
A cold morning in June, Hidra, Norway

Standing there, waiting, I watched the sea. No fish for me. Out of the blue, I remembered. I promised you guys a Great Barrier Reef post when I received the pictures. It’s been a while since I left Australia, but here goes anyway:

P5020283.JPG
Ready for another adventure!

I snorkled in the Great Barrier Reef for hours. Time just swam past, together with a surprisingly fast sea turtle. The Reef has a surreal amount of pink, orange and other colors we don’t usually associate with the sea. It’s hard to believe that the Reef is dying, that it used to be even more spectacular.

P5020301.JPG
Sadly, pictures don’t do the Reef justice…

Even though the turtle was great, the corals were beautiful, the highlight of the excursion was my shark encounter(s). I suddenly spotted a Reef Shark. A rash decision later, I swam after it. I followed it around and over corals, through narrow passages, and I enjoyed myself immensely. Until I rounded a corner and met his father.

Please excuse the quality – I was very surprised!

Thankfully, the Grey Nurse Shark didn’t think too much of me – anyone without fins wouldn’t be good enough for his son, and took a u-turn. By the time I dared to breathe again, the Reef Shark was gone. He’ll forever be the one that got away.

14 thoughts on “My Shark Encounter

    1. Hey, I will! I like that you are raising awareness about sharks. However, I see that you’re a new blogger (welcome to the community), so I figure I should tell you that most people doesn’t like that others advertise their blog on their own. Try leaving a substential comment instead, and many will check your post out without you asking them to. Just a tip! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

