Southern Norway – far away from France

I’m from the west coast of Norway, so cloudy with a 100% chance of rain is pretty much my reality. This weekend I met up with friends in Southern Norway, in an obscure little place no one has ever heard of. It’s these weekends, these times surrounded  by friends, that truly make summer the warmest season of the year.

wp-1468842056997.jpg
We went sailing and I wouldn’t have been anywhere else.

When the sun comes out we can forget. Sometimes only for a little while, but we can foget all the terrible things that happen in the rest of the world. We can close our eyes and feel the sun on our skin. Listen to the laughter of our friends. Feel that it’s good to be alive. France and Turkey becomes so, so far away…

wp-1468842135175.jpg
Pretending that I know anything about mini golf.

I believe we need these moments, these memories. To push the bad out of mind for a weekend. We need to look around and be reassured. We need to be reminded just what we are fighting for. Love is so easily consumed by fear and hate. However it will rise like a phoenix from the ashes – because someone somewhere remembers a weekend like this.

wp-1468842091028.jpg
Close your eyes. Feel the sun. One day you’ll remember that today was a good day, and that will get you through whatever hardship you face.

9 thoughts on “Southern Norway – far away from France

  1. Oh, yay! As you know I’m from Stavanger too, and I spent every childhood summer on Sørlandet! My parents are in fact there now, in Lyngør, and half my extended family have summer houses by the southern coast 😊😊😊. I miss Sørlandet!!! I love that photo of you by the way, the last one with your eyes closed, you look so sweet! 😊😊😊

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Sørlandet is really the best when you live in Stavanger. A chance to see the sun! It sounds amazing to have so many places to visit if you want and have the opportunity to! Thanks, I figured it portrayed exactly how I felt in that moment! ❤ 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, if only I had had the correct stance! That necklace is one of my favorites. It’s a compass and another metal piece where it says “No Matter Where”. I gave a twin to my sister when I started traveling a lot, to remind her that we are always together, no matter how far away I might be.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So true! We can’t always think about and let the horrible things in the world influence our lives.

    Mini-golf is so fun! Too long since I’ve played it…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

