The Beginning of the End

I’ve been thinking about this post for a while now. You see, I got in. I’m going to become a nurse. In Norway we start school in mid-August and end it right before summer. Therefore it’s almost time to say goodbye to the Gap Year I’ve had. Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened, they say.

SONY DSC
My thoughts are back to being seagulls: many, uncontrolled, going around and around.

If I could go anywhere I wanted, where would I be headed right now? I’ve asked myself this question before. I found the answer to be “certainly not to school”. However, it was a different time. Maybe even a different me. This little detour is crucial for my future, but look what I just called it.

IMG_9335
Last yearΒ I knew a Gap Year was right for me, I needed time to figure things out, to try myself in new settings. I slept soundly again for the first time in years.

An education is necessary, and I think I will like nursing. I hope I will. I want to like it. Even though it’s the beginning of the end of my Gap year, it’s the beginning of something else too. The beginning of a different road. A promise of new crossroads to come. Even though I choose to go left now, I believe I will still find green lights ahead.

13224063_1022184071181931_728166355_o
Because dreams do come true. I would know.

19 thoughts on “The Beginning of the End

  1. congrats! you are still on the same road, just a different section of the road. i see it as really a continuation, yet i agree somewhat with you about a beginning/end. but as it relates to time or a section of time. i know you are feeling a lot of emotions. feel them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I really have grown a ton in a year. I’ve met so many people through this blog – which I just love! I almost can’t believe it either, that my Gap year is coming to an end. I think I will write about school too, but I don’t know yet, until now this ahs been a travelblog. However, I will write about something – be sure of that!

      Like

  2. I just graduated nursing school and the journey is hard, exciting, confusing, and so WORTH IT. CONGRATS. You can do it, even when it feels overwhelming. Feel free to reach out with any questions. I love to chat πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I guess I never congratulated you because I knew you would get in πŸ˜‰ Love that quote: “Don’t cry because it’s over, smile because it happened”. I think it was in my yearbook, haha.

    Btw the headline is also a name of a Bones episode^^

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Most choices aren’t as permanent as we think. If you don’t like going left, you can go right! Or straight ahead, and into a wall or a new adventure πŸ˜€ Life usually just happens, and the road is creating while we’re walking on it. Good luck with nursing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

