The Mountains Sing of Bergen

Bergen is the city of Seven Mountains. You’ll see one no matter in which direction you turn. I have three years in this wonderful city, and have promised myself by the end of my studies – I will have mounted them all.

They say it’s all about the climb. Normally I would feel inclined to agree, but when my friends and I arrived at the top (out of breath) it was all about the sunset. All about the view. All about experiencing something so pure and beautiful together. No wonder Mount Ulriken has a central role in the song of Bergen.

cof

“Sang til Bergen” / “Song to Bergen” (first verse)

Holding my newly tuned sitar in my hands;
all my grief left me on the peak of Ulriken.
Thought of the beacons if they would be lighted,
and against foes order out the marching men.
Felt the calm upon me, rejoiced in my spirit,
and reached for my sitar with playful hands.

P.S. No, I did not mean to write “guitar”, sitar is actually an instrument!

7 thoughts on “The Mountains Sing of Bergen

Leave a Reply

