Sunny Beach, Bulgaria

My first impression of Bulgaria is that it is an old country. Leaving Burgas Airport we passed farm after farm, sunflower field after sunflower field. The houses are small, made out of rock and have orange roofs. Cosy, calm and inviting.

cof

Green as far as the eye can see

However, from the the good kind of old, to the “needs refurbishing”-kind. In Sunny Beach, the sidewalk is cracked (suitcase vs sidewalk? Sidewalk), the bins are overflowing, and the four star hotel I’m staying at? Probably not going to recommend it to anyone.

cof

Now, this impression might be unfair. Sunny Beach is infamous for having people visit only to party, so I suspect this place is different without the tourists.

sdr

A typical beach activity? 

BUT, negativity aside, the locals are helpful (albeit surprised that a tourist would rather find the local bus than take a taxi). They have all the time in the world (except when driving, watch out), and have a general friendliness about them that makes them easy to approach.

cof

I love big waves ❤

Finally – it’s warm. Oh sweet warmth, I haven’t had much of you in Norway. In addition, the beach is amazing, and I’m here with two good friends. First impressions can be deceptive; who knows what this trip will become? Five (probably awesome) days left!

7 thoughts on “Sunny Beach, Bulgaria

    1. Hey, welcome to my blog! Sorry for the late reply! I loved my time in Bulgaria. You guys are all really friendly (except for the ones that robbed me, of course). It seems to me that Bulgaria is an old fashioned country, with all that that entails. I visted Varna though, which seems much more modern than the other places I visited:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

